A Lesson on Grammar (Relative Clauses)

I’ve been teaching ESL (English for as a Second Language) for high school students from Taiwan for the summer school. One day, we had a lesson on relative clauses. I said, “Write a sentence using a relative clause starting with ‘who’.” This is what one of my students wrote.

“My father who is my dad said,‘….’”

Um….yeah, it is grammatically correct, but is this relative clause really needed here!? I think we gotta make a relative clause to feel a little more useful, don’t you think!? But I had a good laugh!

Well, do you want to make me laugh some more? If you do, then please comment on this post and give me an example of “a useless use of a relative clause.” I will pick the best one which is supreme. Got it?

コメントをどうぞ。

